Where Is Nepal?

Nepal is a sovereign Independent nation which lies between 80 degree 12′ east longitude and 26 degree 22′ and 30 degree 27′ north latitude. It share its border on the north with Tibet Autonomous Region of the People’s Republic of China, on the east with nation of Sikkim and West Bengal of the Indian Union on the south with Bihar and Uttar Pradesh and on the west with Uttarkhand of Indian Union. Nepal is somewhat rectangular in shape with about 885 km from east-west and from 145 to 241 km north-south. Climatically, it lies in the temperate zone with the added advantage of altitude.

Nepal can be divided into three main geographic regions:

Himalayan Region: The altitude of this region is between 4877 meters to 8848 meters above the sea level and covered with snow most of the time. Eight out of 14 peaks above 8,000m are in Nepal:
1. Sagarmatha also known as Mt. Everest 8848m
2. Kangchenjunga – 8586 m
3. Lhotse – 8516m
4. Makalu – 8463m
5. ChoOyo- 8201 m
6. Dhaulagiri – 8167m
7. Manaslu – 8163m
8. Annapurna- 8091 m

Mountain Region: This region accounts for about 64 percent to total land area. It is formed by the Mahabharat range that soars upto 4877 meters. To its south lies the lower Churia range whose altitude varies from 610 meters to 1524 meters.

Terai Region: The low-land Terai region which has a width of about 26 to 32 kilometers and a maximum altitude of 305 meters, which occupies about 17% of total land area of the country. Kechana is the lowest point of the country with an altitude of 70 meters lies in Jhapa District of the eastern Terai.